Demaria Wins Handily City Charter Approved 3,702 to 2,349

Vondell Langston spots a possible defender as he travels up field.

Mayor Carlo DeMaria overwhelmingly was returned to the corner office, defeating Councilor Peter Napolitano by a more than 2-1 margin.

DeMaria received 4,447 votes while Napolitano garnered 2,007 votes. The total number of votes cast was 6,633.

DeMaria thanked his campaign workers and the voters for returning him to office.

“I’m humbled and excited with the show of support,” said DeMaria. “This election shows that the people of Everett are putting their faith in us to move this city forward, and I promise to exceed that expectation in this next term.”

The new City Charter was also passed in the election by a convincing vote 3702 to 2349 and will take effect on the first Monday in January 2014.

Alderman-at-Large Joseph McGonagle was re-elected to the position with 5,750 votes, defeating Dominic Puleo, who received 1,914 votes.

In the Ward 2 race, incumbent Alderman Michael Mangan won re-election with 2,792 votes, besting Stephen Simonelli, who received 2,330 votes.

In Ward 6, Aldermen Sal Sachetta was victorious with 3,172 votes, defeating Tom Abbruzese who received 1,851 votes.

Aldermen Millie Cardello, Mike Marchese, Charles DiPerri, and Robert Van Campen won their seats in uncontested races.

In a big upset in the Ward 6 Common Council race, newcomer Michael McLaughlin defeated incumbent Anthony Ranieri   who was first elected to the Council in 1996. The other two incumbents Catherine Hicks and Cynthia Sarnie were both returned  to office.

All School Committee members were re-elected.

Please check the Web site for more details at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *