Dibiaso, Costello, and Asprilla Receive All-state Honors

There were 308 high school and prep schools in Massachusetts that fielded football teams in 2010. A total of 16,000 athletes participated in the sport.

And three of the state’s best football players wore Everett High uniforms.

Junior quarterback Jonathan DiBiaso, senior wide receiver Matt Costello, and senior defensive back Manny Asprilla were honored by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston and the Massachusetts High School Football Coaches Association as members of the “Super 26” All-State Team at the annual awards night Sunday at Lantana’s in Randolph.

DiBiaso, who set a state record with 43 touchdown passes, also received the State Offensive Player of the Year Award, sharing that high honor with Billerica junior quarterback Nick LaSpada.

DiBiaso capped off his record-breaking season by leading the Crimson Tide to a 31-7 victory over St. John’s Prep in the Division 1 Super Bowl at Gillette Stadium. As he done throughout the season, DiBiaso, a southpaw signal caller, threw accurate passes to his talented contingent of receivers.

Costello caught 11 passes for 145 yards and three touchdowns in the win over the Prep. Costello had 23 touchdown receptions and 1,352 yards receiving this season as part of one of the most prolific passing combinations in state history. Costello will attend Princeton University.

Asprilla was immense on both sides of the ball. On defense he was involved in 82 tackles and had five interceptions. As a receiver he caught 40 passes for 1,066 yards and scored 14 touchdowns. Asprilla will attend Boston College.

All three Everett players were also selected to the Boston Globe and Boston Herald All-Scholastic teams.

Everett head football coach John DiBiaso congratulated the three players on their individual achievements, saying it was the first time in the 13-year history of the awards that three players from one high school team had been honored with All-State recognition.

The Crimson Tide will celebrate their undefeated Greater Boston League and Super Bowl championship season at the team’s awards banquet on April 3.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *