The Everett Eagles D-Team

The Everett Eagles D-Team finished their season with an impressive 10-1 record. They were North Shore Champions and finished as runners up for the Eastern Mass title. They finished the regular season undefeated amassing 238 points offensively while holding opponents to a paltry 13 points. Everett was riding high entering the playoffs opening the first round against the Reading Rockets. This game showed both how good and bad this team could be. The bad side was seven turnovers but the good was that not many teams could overcome that and walk away with a victory as this team did. Reading opened with an aerial attack that was blanketed by Eagles defensive backs Andre Liz-Abien, Brian Ciulla, Khari Johnson and Jake Willcox. Giovanni Raduzzo, Kamerin Williams, Peterson Monexant and Liam McKinnon provided constant pressure on Readings quarterback giving him no time to throw. The Everett Offensive line of Anthony Yebba, Micheal Bono, Brandan Wood, Charlie Martignetti, Christian Rossi, Kyle Huntsman, and Jaylen Meas controlled the line of scrimmage opening huge holes as fullback Keyanti Anilus pounded the middle all day. Quarterback Jake Willcox snuck the ball in late in the game for the only score giving Everett an opening round victory 7-0

The next game proved to be a physical contest against a rugged Woburn Tanner team. Everett was well prepared for this game as they dominated from start to finish. Trevor Tarlowski directed the offense perfectly down the field as the Eagles scored on the opening drive. Linemen Isaac Dorval, Caleb Hobart, Andrew Devanna, Jalil Marinez, T J Hogan, and D J Warren blew the Woburn players off the ball allowing fullback Adrian Williams to rumble for big gains. Sean Cardello made a perfect pitch to Devon Powell who then powered in from 30 yards for a score. Kicker Gabe DeSouza added the extra point making him eight for ten on the year. The Defense was the true story of this game as they held Woburn (who was averaging 35 points per game) scoreless allowing just two first downs. Jaden Dottin and Marcus Romboli were their dominate selves controlling the edge giving the Woburn backs nowhere to run. Linebackers Devante Hampton and Keyanti Anilus were waiting inside delivering bone jarring hits. Offensively Declan Smith and Terrence Germain paved the way as both Jaden Dottin and Jake Willcox scored giving the Eagles another victory 27-0.

This set up the Eastern Mass Final of the Everett Eagles vs the Brookline Patriots at Everett Memorial Stadium. The quick turnaround proved to be deadly for Everett as several key players were banged up. No excuses as the Eagles traded punches with Brookline for three quarters. Entering the final quarter trailing 6-0 Everett moved to the Patriot 30yard line but a costly interception return for a score turned the game as Brookline opened a 14-0 lead. The Eagles once again were stopped and forced to punt. Brookline returned the kick for another score. Everett would not go down without a fight as Quarterback Jake Willcox rallied his team putting together a solid scoring drive. Devante Hampton had a couple of big gains taking the option pitch outside. Then Jaden Dottin stepped up and took a counter in from 20 yards out. Gabe DeSouza added the kick for the final Brookline 25 Everett 8.

Congratulations to these boys on a great season. They were the youngest D-Team in all of Eastern Mass and although they will lose some key players they have a solid core and should only get better down the line. Thanks to Head Coach Rick Invernizzi. Asst Head Coach Mike Vitukevich , coaches Mike Bono, Eddie Tarlowski, Richie Yebba, Johnny Romboli, Dennis Willcox, Arham Dottin and Mike Vitukevich Jr for all their time and effort. A special thanks to team mother Kathy Tarlowski who handled too many tasks to even name. And finally a big thank you to all the parents for their support all season. Once again congratulations on a great season be proud of what you accomplished. HARD WORK PAYS OFF!!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *