Everett Firefighters Achieve ‘Firefighter of the Year’ Honors

Six Everett firefighters will be honored as ‘Firefighters of the Year’ at a special state ceremony in Worcester today, Nov. 26, for their heroic work on the Morris Street fire in July 2018.

The 30th annual ceremony will honor firefighters from across the state for extraordinary efforts in the year 2018, with WCVB anchor Doug Meehan emceeing the event.

Those being honored will include Firefighter Scott Dalrymple, who was seriously injured in the fire that day, and had a long recovery process from severe burns to his body.

Others include:

•Josh Doyon (who was also injured, but less seriously)

•Craig Hardy

•Chad Bailey

•Chris Dockery

•Joseph Quinn (now retired)

Everett Chief Tony Carli said it was the first time he had nominated any members of the department since he became chief, and was impressed with the process. He said they were put in for their focus during the incident – which had two of their own seriously hurt – and also for saving a woman from a top floor during the fire.

“It’s a vetted process and a great honor for our guys to achieve it,” he said. “I’m very proud of what this group did that day, and I don’t think I’ve ever held back on that. I find it amazing that even with Scott and Josh taken out so early in the fire, they maintained their focus, saved a woman and contained the fire.” Public Safety and Security Undersecretary Jeanne Benincasa Thorpe and State Fire Marshal Peter Ostroskey will present the awards to the various departments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *