Primary Day Is September 9: First Election of 2014 Will Feature Democratic Challenges for Governor, State Rep. And Others

The Everett City Council convened, albeit briefly, Monday night to vote on the date for the city’s primary elections and to officially designate the Coty Services building as the new polling place for precinct 6-2.

City Clerk Michael Matarazzo noted on Monday that the vote by the City Council, was largely a formality as the Primary date for the state wide elections had already been set by the Secretary of State.

However, with the Council on summer recess and the city needing to take a vote to officially hold the primaries, Monday’s meeting amounted to a rubber stamp to the state election calendar.

What was perhaps more interesting from an election watchers perspective was the Monday’s vote officially set the date for what would be the city’s first election of 2014.

One year after having several extra special elections to fill vacancies in the State House and address the question of casino gambling in Everett, the city’s election scene has been quiet and almost tranquil.

Indeed, even the typically divisive, rivalry driven local political scene has been quiet this summer, as incumbent State Representative Wayne Matewsky faces only one challenger in the Democratic primary for his seat, City Councilor Joseph McGonagle.

In addition, to the race for the Democratic nomination for State Representative, Everett voters will join voters across the state in choosing between three Democratic candidates for Governor in current Attorney General Martha Coakley, Treasurer Steve Grossman and  political newcomer Doctor Don Berwick.

Also facing a primary challenge in his race for Governor is Republican Charlie Baker, who is facing off against Tea Party activist Mark Fisher.

There are also three democratic candidates for lieutenant governor in Leland Cheung, Steve Kerrigan and Mike Lake; two democratic candidates for Attorney General in Maura Healey and Warren Tolman; and three democratic candidates for Treasurer, Tom Conroy, Barry Feingold and Deb Goldberg.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *