Wayne Matewsky Wins Primary by 51 Votes

Councilor Wayne Matewsky rode strength in his home precinct to a 51 vote win over four Democratic rivals in Tuesday’s Special Election primary to replace former State Representative Stephen “Stat” Smith.

The win will set up a general election showdown next month, April 5, against two Independent candidates, fellow Councilor Rosa DiFlorio and one-time School Committee member Dennis Giannatassio.

Matewsky garnered 921 votes overall in an election that saw just 3,894 votes cast, or roughly 24 percent of the vote. An incredible 168 of those 921 votes came from Matewsky’s home precinct, Ward 1 Precinct 2, where his four opponents combined for an identical 168 votes.

Trailing Matewsky were Alderman Joseph McGonagle who earned 870 votes, former Mayor John Hanlon who grabbed 830 votes and Alderman Michael Mangan who had 767 votes. Councilor Sergio Cornelio the youngest candidate in the race earned 496 votes.


1 comment for “Wayne Matewsky Wins Primary by 51 Votes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *