2011 Election Review

Last week’s election results held a mixed bag as one longtime common councilor was edged out while another former councilor was overwhelmingly returned to office.

Ward 6 Councilor Anthony Ranieri was edged out of the seat that he has held for 15 years by political newcomer Michael McLaughlin. Former Aldermen and Common Councilor Wayne Matewsky easily returned to office in Ward 1 Common Council race by topping the ticket.

Several Aldermen had challenges to their seats but were overwhelmingly returned by the voters.  Alderman at Large  Joseph McGonagle, Ward 2 Alderman Michael Mangan and Ward 6 Aldermen Sal Sachetta easily kept their respective seats.

In Councilor races for Ward 2, Ward 3 and Ward 4, all incumbent councilors were able to hold onto their seats.

Also in 2011, Rep. Stephen Smith’s name did not appear on the municipal ballot as he decided not to seek re-election to the School Committee at-Large spot that he has held for several years.

In the School Committee race, all the incumbents were not challenged and Berardino D’Onofrio was elected to the at-large seat that was held by Smith.

The results were as follows:

Aldermen at Large

Joseph McGonagle … 3820

Dominic Puleo 1914

Alderman Ward One

Millie Cardello 4093

Alderman Ward 2

Michael Mangan 2792

Stephen Simonelli 2330

Alderman Ward 3

Michael Marchese 3922

Alderman Ward 4

L. Charles DiPierri 3899

Alderman Ward 5

Robert van Campen 3993

Alderman Ward 6

Salvatore Sachetta 3172

Thomas Abruzzese 1851

Common Council Ward 1

Sergio Cornelio 462

Kenneth Giannelli 404

Wayne Matewsky 593

Common Council Ward 2

Joseph King 368

Jason Marcus 490

Eloy Sierra 408

Dennis DiBase 314

Common Council Ward 3

Rosemary Miller 564

David Rodrigues 502

R.J. Dell Isola 597

Leonard Jordan 382

Common Council Ward 4

John Leo McKinnon 497

Daniel Napolitano 593

Adam Ragucci 528

Leonard LoRusso 288

Common Council Ward 5

Lorraine Bruno 555

William Cardello 476

Rosa DiFlorio 451

Common Council Ward 6

C. Tomassi Hicks 563

Anthony Ranieri  384

Cynthia Sarnie 408

Christian Costa 167

Michael McLaughlin 457

School Committee at Large

Richard Baniewicz 2506

Lester MacLaughlin 2829

Bernardino D’Onfrio 2515

School Committee Ward 1

Allen Panarese 3633

School Committee Ward 2

Joseph LaMonica 3586

School Committee Ward 3

Francis Parker 3609

School Committee Ward 4

David Ela 3515

School Committee Ward 5

Alexander Colarusso 3559

School Committee Ward 6

Robert Carreiro 3331


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *